New Releases — July 6, 2018

New Releases for July 6, 2018

CDs + Vinyl:

The Bamboos – Night Time People CD/LP (BMG)
Melbourne nine-piece funk-soul powerhouse The Bamboos (showcasing the winning combination of guitarist/leader Lance Ferguson and vocalist Kylie Auldist) return with their eighth studio effort and first album in five years, Night Time People. Already long regarded as one of the world’s premier funk/soul outfits, it is a fitting follow-up to the success of their 2016 hit “This Girl” and brings their infectious and modern take on a timeless sound to a whole new world of listeners.

The Carters (Beyoncé/JAY-Z) ‎– Everything Is Love CD (Roc Nation)
“The Carters round out a trilogy of confrontational albums about their marriage with something lighter but no less resonant. It is a celebration of resilient black love and proud black extravagance.’ [BNM/8.2] — Pitchfork

DevilDriver – Outlaws ‘Til The End, Vol. 1 CD/LP (Napalm)
The globally-renowned California groove machine has been a constant and effective force in the heavy metal world for the best part of two decades now. monstrous collection of savage and slamming metal interpretations of Dez and his comrades’ favorite outlaw country songs, Outlaws ‘Til The End is both a curveball and a ferocious statement of individuality from a band with cojones to spare. [Limited orange colored vinyl pressing also available.]

Erasure – World Be Live 2xCD/3xLP (Mute)
Taken from Erasure’s recent sold out European tour in support of 2017’s World Be Gone, World Be Live was recorded across the band’s recent London shows at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmith and completes the trilogy of album releases around the World Be Gone project which started with 2017’s World Be Gone album and continued with the orchestral re-imagining of those songs, World Beyond, in March of this year.

Fates Warning – Live Over Europe 2xCD/3xLP (Century Media)
Gathered during the group’s most recent European headlining run for Fates Warning’s latest studio album Theories Of Flight in January 2018, Live Over Europe includes recordings from eight different cities and a total of 23 songs spanning 30 years of the metal band’s seminal career.

Vince Guaraldi – The Complete Warner Bros. – Seven Arts Recordings 2xCD (Omnivore)
All three Warner-Seven Arts albums remastered on two CDs. Includes for previously unissued bonus tracks.

Immortal – Northern Chaos Gods CD/LP/Cassette (Nuclear Blast)
The Norwegian black metal legends Immortal unleash their first studio album in nearly a decade. Eight massive new tracks of merciless speed and icy darkness. [Limited edition white colored vinyl pressing also available.]

Mouse On The Keys – Tres CD (Topshelf)
Third album from the singular Japanese act. Mouse On The Keys is well-known for blurring genres and Tres is no exception, traversing dark and avant-garde electronica, minimalist neo-classical, whilst also continuing to develop on their math-rock tendencies with rapid-fire time signature changes, angular rhythms and melodic yet frenetic piano work. [Vinyl edition due July 20.]

The Nude Party – The Nude Party CD/LP+MP3 (New West)
The Nude Party – one of 2018’s most groovy and dynamic rock records was produced by Oakley Munson of The Black Lips and recorded in Woodstock, NY. The album finds that formidable music machine cranked all the way to cosmic. Maybe it’s the electric waters of Lake Norman, NC where the band spent a primordial summer, or the upstate New York vibes that have beckoned American spiritualists and storytellers for a dozen generations, but something gives these cats a glow.

Years & Years – Palo Santo CD (Interscope)
A band intuitively connected to great, homespun British pop classicism, Palo Santo announces Years & Years’ ascension to the world stage. Part full-blooded, escapist fantasia and part social comment, this is outlier pop as futurism once more, offering solutions when the wider world is transforming beyond recognition. Drawing inspiration from cult sci-fi as the multi-sensory pop of Prince, Bowie or Gaga, the British electronica trio has created the perfect space in which to tell their most intimate, personal stories; on identity, sexuality, performance, and ultimately, what it means to be human.

This Week’s Vinyl Exclusives:

The Beatles – Yellow Submarine [1966] 7” (Capitol)
To celebrate the Beatles’ animated film Yellow Submarine’s 50th Anniversary, the single “Yellow Submarine” is available as a limited edition 7” single picture disc.

Blackberry Smoke ‎– The Whippoorwill [Reissue/2012] 2xLP (Earache)
Limited import-only purple colored vinyl repressing of the Southern rock band’s third album.

Johnny Clarke – Creation Rebel 2xLP (VP)
Among the ranks of singers, only Johnny Clarke comes close to challenging Bob Marley and Dennis Brown for reggae’s crown, through his unequaled run of hit songs. His output of mid- ‘70s classics powered by producer Bunny “Striker” Lee, give Clarke status among the top artists of the period and contemporary relevance on the live show and reggae festival circuit. Many of Johnny’s classic roots recordings are gathered here, the very essence of what is now regarded as the golden age of roots music.

Johnny Marr – Call The Comet LP (New Voodoo)
Recently released on CD – now available on vinyl. Recorded with his band in Manchester at Johnny Marr’s Crazy Face studios, Call The Comet is the third solo record from the Smiths guitarist and follows 2013’s critically acclaimed The Messenger and 2014’s Playland.

Bruce Springsteen – Greatest Hits [Reissue/1995] 2xLP+MP3 (Sony Legacy)
Limited double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold sleeve.

Various Artists – Turn It Around: The Story Of East Bay Punk 2xLP (1234 Go!)
Double blue vinyl LP pressing. Original soundtrack to the Turn It Around: The Story Of East Bay Punk documentary. Ninety minutes of music over thirty-five rare, unreleased and/or out-of-print tracks from bands like Green Day, Rancid, Neurosis, NOFX, Operation Ivy, Crimpshrine, Mr. T Experience, Jawbreaker, Pinhead Gunpowder, Filth, Blatz, Sweet Children, Isocracy and many more.

Yelawolf ‎– Trunk Muzik 0-60 [2010] LP (Interscope)
Available on vinyl for the first time, Trunk Muzik 0-60 is southern rapper Yelawolf’s 2010 major label debut on Interscope.