New Releases — May 1-8, 2020

New Releases for May 1, 2020

Chicano Batman – Invisible People LP (ATO)
The L.A.-based quartet made up of Eduardo Arenas, Carlos Arevalo, Bardo Martinez and Gabriel Villa, follow-up the critically acclaimed breakthrough Freedom Is Free with their most sonically varied and cohesive album to date. Mixed by Grammy-winning engineer Shawn Everett (Beck, Alabama Shakes) the 12-song set accentuates the group’s high-spirited synthesis of Tropicalia, west coast psychedelia and late-’60s/early-’70s soul. [CD edition due May 29.]

Diet Cig – Do You Wonder About Me? CD (Frenchkiss)
They’ve been compared to tornadoes, firecrackers, and lightning storms, and described as genuine, unapologetic, and down-to-earth. And now Alex Luciano and Noah Bowman of gutsy rock duo Diet Cig are back with their sophomore full-length, Do You Wonder About Me?, the follow-up to 2017’s Swear I’m Good At This. The new record marks a more intentional, self-assured Diet Cig; not only in Luciano’s radically intimate, acerbic lyrics, but in the duo’s sound as well. [Limited colored vinyl pressing coming later.]

American Aquarium – Lamentations CD (New West)
“This is a record about the things that break people. Religion, politics, addiction, love, money, family, history. I believe it is an empathetic look at the other side. A group of stories about losing everything and still finding the will to stand back up and fight for the things that matter the most.” – BJ Barham

Car Seat Headrest – Making A Door Less Open CD/LP+MP3 (Matador)
Created over the course of four years, Making A Door Less Open is the result of a fruitful ‘collaboration’ between Car Seat Headrest, led by Will Toledo, and 1 Trait Danger, a CSH electronic side project consisting of drummer Andrew Katz and Toledo’s alternative persona, ‘Trait.’ To realize this, the band recorded the album twice: once live with guitars, drums and bass, and once in a MIDI environment using purely synthesized sounds. During the mixing process, the two approaches were gradually combined using elements of each, with additional overdubs.

Kenny Chesney – Here And Now CD (Warner Nashville)
With Here And Now, the high energy songwriter/superstar delivers 12 tracks that lift up, inspire, acknowledge and validate people right where they are. Long on passion, joy, introspection and love, it is Kenny Chesney’s way to help you check in with your world, find grace where you are and annex the No Shoes Nation state of mind anytime, anywhere.

Dave Douglas – Dizzy Atmosphere CD (Green Leaf)
In making Dizzy Atmosphere, Dave Douglas’s tribute to the great trumpeter, composer and humanist Dizzy Gillespie, Douglas said he wanted to explore Dizzy’s experimental and wide open mind as well as the influence of his music. This album shines a light on the whole legacy of Gillespie, one of America’s finest artists. The original music Douglas wrote swings and shimmers with a grace reminiscent of the great man.

Damien Jurado – What’s New, Tomboy? CD (Mama Bird)
New release from the Seattle-based indie-folk veteran. [Vinyl edition due June 5.]

Tech N9ne – Enterfear CD (Strange Music)
The veteran MC’s latest project features collaborations with Krizz Kaliko, Flatbush Zombies, King Iso, Navé Monjo and more.

William Elliott Whitmore – I’m With You CD/LP+MP3 (Bloodshot)
William Elliott Whitmore returns with all original material for his eighth full-length album. The album centers around the theme of unity and togetherness with family, friends, and the human race.

Nina Simone – 1957-1962: The Essential Works 2xLP (Masters Of Jazz)
Nina Simone was an exceptional artist. She was gifted with a precocious talent and she played music at home and in church. Nina originally counted on becoming the first black female classical pianist; her plans were thwarted and that frustration no doubt permeated almost her entire career. She has left us some of the most beautiful chapters in jazz and soul music, among them the 23 titles that appear in this album.

Various Artists – Friends [OST/Reissue/1994] 2xLP (Reprise)
Special 25th anniversary commemorative pink colored vinyl pressing with an etching on Side-D. Contains tracks from The Rembrandts, Lou Reed, Pretenders, Hootie & The Blowfish, Grant Lee Buffalo, k.d. lang, Lou Reed, Joni Mitchell, R.E.M., Toad The Wet Sprocket, Barenaked Ladies and Paul Westerberg.

Kanye West – Jesus Is King LP (GOOD Music/Def Jam)
Recently released on CD – now available on vinyl. Jesus Is King is the ninth studio album by rapper and producer Kanye West. The album follows a Christian theme, with West describing it as an “expression of the gospel.”

New Releases for May 8, 2020

Mark Lanegan – Straight Songs Of Sorrow CD/LP (PIAS America)
When considering any great work of art, be it a painting, a novel, or a piece of music, it’s natural to wonder what might have inspired it. Mark Lanegan’s new album, Straight Songs Of Sorrow, features guest appearances from Greg Dulli, Warren Ellis, John Paul Jones, Ed Harcourt and more. These 15 songs are inspired his life story, as documented in his new memoir, Sing Backwards And Weep. The book is a brutal, nerve-shredding read, thanks to Lanegan’s unsparing candor in recounting a journey from troubled youth in eastern Washington, through his drug-stained existence amid the ’90s Seattle rock scene, to an unlikely salvation at the dawn of the 21st century.

Tommy Emmanuel – The Best Of Tommysongs 2xCD/2xLP (CGP)
Influenced by the Merle Travis/Chet Atkins fingerstyle of guitar picking, Tommy developed a style of solo guitar playing that encompasses the range of a whole band – covering drums, bass, rhythm lead guitar, and a vocal melody simultaneously. While some artists take a band on the road, Tommy builds a complete sonic world entirely on his own with no overdubs or loops. This 24-track, vinyl double-disc collection features five brand new songs and the lion’s share of Emmanuel’s best originals all re-recorded.

Fake Names – Fake Names CD/LP+MP3 (Epitaph)
Punk rock supergroup Fake Names – which includes Brian Baker (Minor Threat, Dag Nasty, Bad Religion), Michael Hampton (S.O.A., Embrace, One Last Wish), Dennis Lyxzén (Refused, International Noise Conspiracy, INVSN), and Johnny Temple (Girls Against Boys, Soulside) – deliver their self-titled debut record on which they bring their collective history to a 28-minute burst of unbridled energy.

Hayley Williams – Petal For Armor CD/LP (Atlantic)
Hayley Williams debut solo album was produced by guitarist Taylor York, Williams’ lead collaborator in their Grammy Award-winning band Paramore. Petal For Armor was heralded earlier this month by the acclaimed first single, “Simmer”. The smoldering track arrived alongside its own Warren Fu-directed video, providing a compelling first chapter to a continuing storyline.

Redd Kross – Phaseshifter [Reissue/1993] LP (Third Man)
Redd Kross – Show World [Reissue/1997] LP (Third Man)
What are Redd Kross? Punk rock? Psychedelia? Heavy metal? Bubblegum? Power pop? Whatever they are, they are 100% Redd Kross, the catchiest of catchy, chock full of hooks, melodies and harmonies, impossible to not smile and sing along…maybe even dance to. 40 years in and hot on the heels of their 2019 album Beyond The Door, Third Man Records reissues two of their beloved 1990s albums, Phaseshifter (1993) and Show World (1997).