New Releases — Nov. 26, 2021

New Releases for November 26, 2021 (non-RSD issues)

CDs + Vinyl:

Black Label Society – Doom Crew Inc. CD/2xLP (eONE)
Black Label Society build their music on this simple truth, truth as self-evident on Back In Black as on the dozen songs comprising Doom Crew Inc., the eleventh album from the dependable stalwarts. Doom Crew Inc. is both a tribute to the band’s “first to bleed, last to leave” road crew and a salute to the legion whose support, stretching back to 1998, rivals that of the KISS Army. The Black Label Society biker-style battle vest “kutte” is as ubiquitous at hard rock and metal shows as a black t-shirt. Doom Crew Inc. is the fourth BLS album created at the Black Vatican, the studio built at the Zakk Wylde residence in 2010.

Cynic – Ascension Codes CD/2xLP (Season Of Mist)
Cynic makes its long-awaited return with Ascension Codes, the highly anticipated follow up to 2014’s critically acclaimed Kindly Bent To Free Us. Ascension Codes is the latest evolution in Cynic’s legendary career as the band is now fully immersed within the progressive rock genre, once again exploring new territory and pushing the boundaries as they boldly step outside their comfort zone to reach a new apex of musical proficiency. The album takes the listener on a cosmic journey through space and time, balancing polished technicality and moments of peaceful ambience, creating a dynamic experience that is filled with both bright energy and calming peacefulness.

Daryl Hall & John Oates – Live At The Troubador 2xCD/3xLP (BMG)
Recorded in May 2008, Live At The Troubadour sees Daryl Hall and John Oates return to the legendary Los Angeles venue they first played as a support act in the ‘70s. The set sees the duo delve into their extensive back catalogue, delighting fans with nearly two hours of hits reimagined in a stripped back format, laying bare the beauty of their classic songwriting and mastery of their craft as live performers. The recording includes incredible live performances of “Maneater”, “Out Of Touch”, “You Make My Dream” and many more.

Insane Clown Posse – Yum Yum Bedlam CD (Psychopathic)
The 16th studio album by horrorcore duo is is the fifth Joker Card in the second Deck of the Dark Carnival Saga. Features the single “Wretched”.

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit – Georgia Blue CD/2xLP (Southeastern)
“Georgia Blue is a labor of love. On election day 2020, when I saw that there was a good chance the state of Georgia might go blue, I came up with an idea: to record an album of Georgia-related songs as a thank you to the state and donate the money to a Georgia-based non-profit organization. I will admit my motivations were a bit selfish. For years, I’ve been looking for an excuse to record these songs with my band and some friends. The songs on this album are some of my favorite Georgia-related songs, but the tracklist is not meant to be comprehensive. I would love to cover Outkast and 2 Chainz, but I don’t think the finished product would be very good. We’re a rock band, so we covered rock songs. We have roots in blues and R&B, so we enlisted some brilliant artists to help us pull off songs by Precious Bryant, James Brown, and Gladys Knight. My favorite part of the Georgia Blue recording process was having the opportunity to work with these very special artists, and I thank them: Amanda Shires, Brittney Spencer, Adia Victoria, Brandi Carlile, Julien Baker, Bèla Fleck, Chris Thile, Steve Gorman, Peter Levin, and John Paul White. I hope you enjoy listening to these recordings as much as we enjoyed making them. Keep listening to good music and fighting the good fight.” [Special RSD Black Friday vinyl pressing is also available.]

Sunn O))) – Metta, Benevolence BBC6 Live: On The Invitation Of Mary Ann Hobbs CD (Southern Lord)
Metta, Benevolence is a live album recorded in 2019 at the BBC Maida Vale studios while the band was on tour in the UK.

Killer Be Killed – Killer Be Killed [Reissue/2014] 2xLP (Nuclear Blast)
Double blue and white color vinyl pressing of the 2014 album from the heavy metal supergroup founded by Dillinger Escape Plan vocalist Greg Puciato and Soulfly frontman Max Cavalera in early 2011. The lineup also features Mastodon bassist and co-vocalist Troy Sanders and Converge drummer Ben Koller.

My Morning Jacket ‎– Chapter 1: The Sandworm Cometh : Early Recordings, B-Sides, Covers, Y Mas [Reissue/2004] 2xLP (Darla)
My Morning Jacket ‎– Chapter 2: Learning. Early Recordings, B-Sides, Covers, Y Mas [Reissue/2004] 2xLP (Darla)
Limited edition color vinyl reissues pressed at 45rpm for best audio quality.