New Releases — November 11, 2022

New Releases for November 11, 2022

CDs + Vinyl:

Bill Frisell – Four CD/2xLP (Blue Note)
Bill Frisell convenes a new line-up of musical friends on his third Blue Note album, Four, which features the acclaimed guitarist with Gregory Tardy on saxophone and clarinet, Gerald Clayton on piano, and Johnathan Blake on drums. Together, the foursome delves into intimate explorations of thirteen Frisell originals (both old and new) to create this stunning new work that is a meditation on loss, renewal, and friendship.

Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion I [Reissue/1991] CD/2xCD/2xLP (Geffen)
Guns N’ Roses – Use Your Illusion II [Reissue/1991] CD/2xCD/2xLP (Geffen)
Guns N’ Roses’ highly anticipated third and fourth studio albums Use Your Illusion I and Use Your Illusion II were originally released simultaneously on September 17, 1991. With the massive success of GN’R Lies and Appetite For Destruction, the band had the daunting task of a follow up album. Not only did the band deliver, Guns N’ Roses surprised the world by releasing not one but two new, full-length studio albums. Now digitally remastered, Use Your Illusion I and II are available in Regular, Deluxe and Super Deluxe editions.

Larkin Poe – Blood Harmony CD/LP (Tricki-Woo)
Blood Harmony affirms Larkin Poe as an essential force in shaping the identity of Southern rock ‘n’ roll, breathing new energy into the genre with both forward-thinking perspective and feminine strength.

L.S. Dunes – Past Lives CD/LP (Concord)
Unshackled from the expectations and aesthetics of their already successful careers, L.S. Dunes super-charge their heavy anthems on Past Lives with punk energy into a sound unlike anything that has come before it. From the gripping, theatrical opener “2022”, and the crunchy, frenetic earworm “Like Forever”, to the pummeling, expansive “Permanent Rebellion”, and the disarming album closer, “Sleep Cult”, Past Lives is an electrifying and emotional ride.

Bruce Springsteen – Only The Strong Survive CD/2xLP (Columbia)
“Bruce Springsteen’s new studio album Only The Strong Survive celebrates soul music gems from the legendary catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and many more. The Boss’ twenty-first studio effort also features guest vocals by Sam Moore, as well as contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton. Springsteen commented: “I wanted to make an album where I just sang. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the ‘60s and ‘70s? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray, and Scott Walker, among many others.” [An indie store exclusive orange color vinyl pressing is available.]

Louis Tomlinson – Faith In The Future CD/LP (BMG)
Louis Tomlinson triumphantly returns with his first new music since the release of his debut solo album Walls in 2020. Written by Tomlinson, Rob Harvey, and Red Triangle, and produced by Mike Crossey (The 1975, Wolf Alice), introductory single “Bigger Than Me” is an impassioned pop song with a gargantuan and emotional chorus. “It was my first moment of excitement making this record, and where it felt we were on to something which honors the live show,” Louis says.

Various Artists – Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver CD/LP (New West)
Billy Joe Shaver’s songs were stories of his life; they were real, and they were raw. Many artists have covered Billy Joe songs over the years. From Willie to Waylon to Elvis and Cash. Billy Joe’s influence on some of the greatest of artists is what inspired this project. Now, with Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver, a whole new batch of artists and songwriters are taking their cut at one of the greatest songwriting catalogs of all time. This album is a testament to Billy Joe’s words and the deep impact they had on so many wonderful songwriters and performers.

2Pac – All Eyez On Me [Reissue/1996] 4xLP (Interscope)
Limited four 180gm vinyl pressing. All Eyez On Me debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 upon its release in 1996. It features the massive hits, “Ambitionz Az A Ridah”, “Picture Me Rollin'”, “I Ain’t Made At Cha”, “How Do U Want It”, and the remix of “California Love”.

Bad Religion – How Could Hell Be Any Worse? [Reissue/1982] LP+MP3 (Epitaph)
Limited clear with black smoke color vinyl pressing. 40th Anniversary edition. How Could Hell Be Any Worse? is the debut studio album by Bad Religion, originally released in 1982.

Bullet For My Valentine – Bullet For My Valentine 2xLP (Spinefarm)
Two splatter colorways: blue and red. Deluxe Edition of Bullet for My Valentine’s self-titled 2021 album featuring five new studio tracks.

Alice Coltrane – Ptah The El Daoud [Reissue/1970] LP (Verve)
Limited 180gm vinyl pressing. Recorded in the basement studio of the Coltrane family home in Dix Hills in 1970, Alice Coltrane’s fourth album is a transcendent masterpiece of spiritual jazz. The title track is an ode to the Egyptian God, Ptah (the El Daoud meaning “the beloved”). Many moments on the album reach what Coltrane herself defined the term Turiya as: “a state of consciousness – the high state of Nirvana, the goal of human life.” Part of Verve’s By Request Series featuring 180gm vinyl pressed at Third Man in Detroit.

Gov’t Mule – Heavy Load Blues 3xLP (Fantasy)
Deluxe triple vinyl pressing of Gov’t Mule’s 2021 album featuring eight additional studio and live tracks, including covers by Savoy Brown, Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, and Otis Rush.

Hank III – Straight To Hell [Reissue/2006] 2xLP (Curb)
Double red color vinyl pressing of the third studio album by Hank Williams III. In largely self-produced sessions recorded at a band member’s home, Williams and the Damn Band recorded traditional country music, western swing and bluegrass songs which focus on drug use, hedonism, and the outlaw life, as well as criticism of the mainstream country music industry. These songs make up the first disc, while the second disc consists of a sound collage of psychedelic music.

Makaveli – The Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory [Reissue/1996] 2xLP (Interscope)
The Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory is the fifth studio album from Makaveli (aka 2Pac). It was recorded in seven days in August of 1996 and released in November of that same year. It features the hits, “To Live And Die In L.A” and “Hail Mary”.

Sharon Van Etten – We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong 2xLP+MP3 (Jagjaguwar)
Deluxe vinyl edition expanded with four bonus tracks. Includes handwritten etching on Side D. Package includes trifold jacket and poster. Sharon Van Etten has always been the kind of artist who helps people make sense of the world around them, and her sixth album, We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong, concerns itself with how we feel, mourn, and reclaim our agency when we think the world – or at least, our world – might be falling apart.

Suki Waterhouse – Milk Teeth 12”+MP3 (Sub Pop)
Released last week on CD – now available on marble blue color.