New Releases — July 3, 2020

New Releases for July 3, 2020

Black Sabbath – The End: Live From the Genting Arena, Birmingham 2017 3xLP (Eagle Records)
The End is a celebration of Black Sabbath’s final hometown concert at Birmingham’s Genting Arena on February 4, 2017. This unforgettable farewell show from one of the biggest bands in the world marks the closure of a monumental chapter in rock history. With a hit packed set list that includes “Iron Man”, “Paranoid”, “War Pigs” and many more, this 17-track limited colored vinyl set finds the trailblazing band delivering the most emotionally charged show of their career. The End captures a once-in-a-career performance, an essential snapshot of musical history, and a fitting farewell to true innovators and original heavy metal icons, Black Sabbath. Featuring Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar) and Geezer Butler (bass), with Tommy Clufetos (drums) and Adam Wakeman (keyboards, guitar).

Sparks – A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip CD/2xLP (BMG)
Brothers Ron and Russell Mael aka art-pop outfit Sparks return with their 24th studio album, A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip. Since storming into the charts, minds and airwaves in 1974 with “This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us” from their third album Kimono My House, the musically vital pop pioneers have created a unique legacy both on record and in their live performances. A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip follows Sparks’ 2017 album Hippopotamus, an extraordinary record which saw them return to the Top 10 and was universally acclaimed with many critics declaring it to be one of the finest albums of the year and the pinnacle of the band’s career – until now. Includes the bombastic, tongue-in-cheek new single “Self-Effacing.”

Willie Nelson – First Rose Of Spring CD/LP+MP3 (Legacy)
While his last few albums have focused on facing the reality of mortality and crying or laughing in its face, First Rose Of Spring, an atmospheric soulful showcase of beautifully-written songs and poignant performances, is focused much more on celebrating the now and embracing life, love and friends and family. Premiering 11 new Willie Nelson studio performances and featuring original artwork created by Willie’s son Micah, the album finds Willie working again with longtime friend and producer Buddy Cannon and debuts two new songs co-written by the pair: “Blue Star” and “Love Just Laughed”. Alongside his new compositions on the album, Willie pays musical tribute to a variety of pop and country songwriters and performers, interpreting songs penned by Toby Keith (“Don’t Let The Old Man In”), Billy Joe Shaver (“We Are The Cowboys”) and Pete Graves (“Just Bummin’ Around” – a song recorded by Jimmy Dean, Dean Martin and others).

Bury Tomorrow – Cannibal CD/LP (Sony)
New release from the British metalcore band. Already, the Southampton
quintet are responsible for some of metalcore’s most rousing anthems, and Cannibal is stacked with more glorious vocal hooks, razor-sharp riffs and sublime melodies that will solidify their seat at UK metal’s top table. [Limited colored vinyl pressing also available.]

Daze N’ Daze – Show Me The Blueprints CD/LP (Fat Wreck Chord)
Days N’ Daze is a band from Houston performing a type of folk punk they have called ‘H-Town Thrashgrass’. Song themes range from anarchism and environmental issues to anxiety, alcoholism, and parties.

Man Man – Dream Hunting In The Valley Of The In-Between LP+MP3 (Sub Pop)
Recently released on CD and cassette – now available on vinyl. Honus Honus (aka Ryan Kattner) has devoted his career to exploring the uncertainty between life’s extremes, beauty, and ugliness, order and chaos. The songs on Dream Hunting In The Valley Of The In-Between, Man Man’s first album in over six years, are as intimate, soulful, and timeless as they are audaciously inventive and daring.

Jill Scott ‎– Who Is Jill Scott? – Words And Sounds Vol. 1 [Reissue/2000] 2xLP (Hidden Beach)
Limited double blue colored vinyl pressing celebrating the 20th Anniversary of the Grammy-award, multi-platinum artist’s debut album.

Wavves – King Of The Beach [Reissue/2010] LP+7” (Fat Possum)
Limited purple kush vinyl LP pressing with alternate art including bonus 7” single containing the tracks “Mutant” and “Stained Glass (Won’t You Let Me Into Yr Heart)”. King Of The Beach is the third studio album by the American band Wavves. Pitchfork placed it at #50 on its list The Top 50 Albums of 2010.