New Releases — July 22, 2016

The Birthday Massacre – Imagica CD/LP (Metropolis)
The Birthday massacre has dug into their past with this collection of songs recorded under their original moniker Imagica.

Blut Aus Nord/Ævangelist – Codex Obscura Nomina CD (Debemur Morti)
“This split LP from Blut Aus Nord and Ævangelist explores black metal’s capacity to accommodate an array of sounds and moods, not just grimness.” — Pitchfork

Crown The Empire – Retrograde CD (Rise)
New album from the Dallas post-hardcore outfit. [Vinyl edition due August 26.]

Dio – A Decade Of Dio: 1983-1993 6xCD (Rhino)
A Decade Of Dio brings together their first six studio albums, each featuring newly remastered audio. Includes: Holy Diver (1983), The Last In Line (1984), Sacred Heart (1985), Dream Evil (1987), Lock Up The Wolves (1990), and Strange Highways (1993). [Vinyl edition due October 4.] Continue reading

Posted in New Releases |

Top Selling Music, Week of July 11-17, 2016

1. Avett Brothers- True Sadness
2. Rich Robinson- Flux
3. Lake Street Dive- Side Pony
4. Case/Lang/Veirs- Case/Lang/Veirs
5. Band Of Horses- Why Are You Ok
6. Radiohead- A Moon Shaped Pool
7. Bat For Lashes- Bride
8. Neil Young & Promise Of The Real- Earth
9. Flume- Skin
10. Chevelle- North Corridor

1. Melvins- Stoner Witch
2. Nirvana- Nirvana
3. Grateful Dead- American Beauty
4. Melvins- Stag
5. Heartworn Highways- Heartworn Highways
6. Red Hot Chili Peppers- Getaway
7. Radiohead- OK Computer
8. Radiohead- Amnesiac
9. Star Wars: The Force Awakens- Star Wars: The Force Awakens
10. Radiohead- Bends

Posted in Best Sellers |

New Releases — July 15, 2016

Agalloch – Pale Folklore [Reissue/1999] CD/2xLP (The End)
Agalloch – The Mantle [Reissue/2002] CD/2xLP (The End)
Agalloch – Ashes Against The Grain [Reissue/2006] CD/2xLP (The End)
Remastered reissues of the seminal progressive black metal band’s first three full-length albums, each with new artwork.

Jeff Beck – Loud Hailer CD/LP (Rhino)
Legendary guitarist Jeff Beck’s first studio album in six years, Loud Hailer, combines fluid fretwork with topical lyrics to make a powerful statement about everything from the love of power, to the power of love. Loud Hailer, which is another name for a megaphone, is a suitable moniker for an album that isn’t shy about speaking its mind. The two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Famer explains, “I really wanted to make a statement about some of the nasty things I see going on in the world today, and I loved the idea of being at a rally and using this loud device to shout my point of view.”

Bright Light Bright Light – Choreography CD/LP (MRI)
Bright Light Bright Light’s third album, Choreography, includes a stellar line-up of guest vocalists, including Elton John, Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters), Ana Matronic (Scissor Sisters), actor Alan Cumming, and Mykal Kilgore (The Wiz Live TV special, and on Broadway In Motown). The album is a gorgeous set of electronica layered with guitars, saxophone, harmonies and nods to the late ‘80s and early ‘90s.  “There is no doubt a lot of influence on the album from early ‘80s synth-pop bands like The Human League, The Pet Shop Boys and Soft Cell. But what really makes Choreography the perfect album title is simply because it is packed with tunes that make you want to move. You only have to listen to the power-pop first single ‘All In The Name’ to see that.” – Backseat Mafia

William S. Burroughs – Let Me Hang You CD/LP (Ernest Jenning)
20 years ago, William S. Burroughs was asked to record an audio version of his favorite parts of Naked Lunch. Longtime associates and producers Hal Willner and James Grauerholz produced several sessions, and they recruited a team of world-class musicians to help. Famed for their Naked City involvement, Bill Frisell and Wayne Horvitz contributed their genius, as well as Eyvind Kang, just to name a few. The recordings were then abandoned and collected dust on a musty shelf, as forgotten as a piece of rancid ectoplasm on a peepshow floor. Let Me Hang You is a collection of depraved genius straight from the godfather of punk’s very own mouth. Continue reading

Posted in New Releases |

Top Selling Music, Week of July 4-10, 2016

1. Avalanches- Wildflower
2. Radiohead- A Moon Shaped Pool
3. Car Seat Headrest- Teens Of Denial
4. Margaret Glaspy- Emotions & Math
5. Hamilton- (original Broadway cast recording)
6. Eric Clapton & Friends- Crossroads Revisited
7. Aphex Twin- Cheetah (EP)
8. Autolux- Pussy’s Dead
9. Bat For Lashes- Bride
10. Neil Young & Promise Of The Real- Earth

1. Red Hot Chili Peppers- Getaway
2. Brand New- Deja Entendu
3. Dillinger Escape Plan- Option Paralysis
4. My Morning Jacket- Circuital
5. Blink 182- California
6. Jimi Hendrix- Are You Experienced
7. Betty Davis- Columbia Years 1968-1969
8. Whitney- Light Upon The Lake
9. Nails- You Will Never Be One Of Us
10. Swans- Glowing Man

Posted in Best Sellers |

New Releases — July 8, 2016

Aphex Twin – Cheetah EP CD/LP+MP3 (Warp)
The Aphex Twin Cheetah EP uses digital sound generation techniques combined with wave sequencing technology to bring you sounds with movement and depth rarely found on records today. To assure you that your Cheetah EP will give you many years of enjoyment, please be sure to read the owner’s manual carefully before attempting to operate the Cheetah EP. All forms of Cheetah EP come encased in high gloss packaging with silver foil detailing to ensure a high quality product experience. We sincerely hope that having battled through the programming of the Cheetah EP, you will have now become familiar with the exceptional potential of this record.

The Avalanches – Wildflower CD/2xLP (Astralwerks/XL)
16 years after the release of their critically acclaimed, award-winning debut Since I Left You, The Avalanches return with their second album, Wildflower. Created by the band’s core duo Robbie Chater and Tony Di Blasi, Wildflower is like The Beach Boys’ Smile re-imagined in the Daisy Age: a mind-bending cartoon road movie that’s best viewed with closed eyes and an open mind. Here’s what Chater has said of the 16 year hiatus: “What kept us going during the making of the record was a belief in the day-to-day experience of music as a life force – an energy capable of changing your life. Hearing a certain song on a certain morning can change your day; it can make the world look different. It can change the way you perceive light refracting through the atmosphere for the rest of the afternoon. Literally changing the colour and feeling-tone of our world.” Wildflower includes 21 tracks and features from Danny Brown, MF Doom, Toro y Moi, Camp Lo, Biz Markie, and more.

BADBADNOTGOOD – IV CD/2xLP+MP3 (Innovative Leisure)
BADBADNOTGOOD is the talented young quartet of Matthew Tavares on keys, Chester Hansen on bass, Alex Sowinski on drums and Leland Whitty on saxophone. They formed and became inseparable friends at Humber College’s Music Performance program in 2011 and have been on a critically acclaimed, rule bending musical journey ever since. IV continues their forward thinking progression, sounding something like a jam session in space between Can, John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters, Weather Report, Arthur Russell and MF Doom. With tracks like “Time Moves Slow” featuring haunting vocals from Sam Herring of Future Islands, the syncopated groove of “Lavender,” a collaboration with Montreal based producer Kaytranada, the rumbling fusion build of “Confessions Pt. II” featuring Colin Stetson on the bass sax, “Love” which is highlighted with smokey left field raps from Mick Jenkins and the epic chords of “Speaking Gently,” IV is an exploration in post-genre virtuosity. Continue reading

Posted in New Releases |