New Releases — February 3, 2017

Big Wreck – Grace Street CD (Rounder)
Canadian multi-platinum-selling rockers Big Wreck continue to build on the creative momentum of their two previous JUNO Award-nominated releases, Ghosts and Albatross. New album Grace Street contains heavy grooving tracks such as lead-off single “One Good Piece of Me” and “Digging In” along with the atmospheric “A Speedy Recovery” and the epic seven-minute instrumental “Skybunk Marché.”

Black Sabbath – The Ultimate Collection 2xCD/4xLP (Rhino)
The 31-track The Ultimate Collection features Black Sabbath classic songs including “Paranoid,” “Iron Man,” “War Pigs,” “N.I.B.” and “The Wizard” as well other choice cuts from their discography. [Vinyl edition 180gm.]

Black Star Riders – Heavy Fire CD/LP (Nuclear Blast)
New release from this hard rock band featuring Scott Gorham (Thin Lizzy), Ricky Warwick (The Almighty), Damon Johnson (Thin Lizzy, Brother Cane), Robbie Crane (Ratt), and Jimmy DeGrasso (Megadeth, Alice Cooper).

Elbow – Little Fictions CD/LP+MP3 (Concord)
Little Fictions was recorded in Scotland and Manchester and sees the band collaborate with the string players of The Hallé Orchestra, the Hallé Ancoats Community Choir, members of London Contemporary Voices and session drummer Alex Reeves. “This album, according to Elbow’s guitarist Mark Potter, is ‘the sound of four people who love what they do, and each other’. If that seems a little too bromantic to be true, the proof is in the playing. Elbow are sometimes pigeonholed as prog-rockers, but the special ingredient in their recipe is something you won’t find in early Genesis: blokey warmth. It’s there in Garvey’s big-hearted lyrics, his beer-stained vocals, and the layers of music behind him, which tend to be intricate but emotional. When it all falls into place, an Elbow song is a thing of beauty, built to make arms sway.” – Daily Mail [Limited color vinyl copies also available, along with standard black 180gm pressing.] Continue reading

Posted in New Releases |

Top Selling Music, Week of January 23-29, 2017

1. Run The Jewels- Run The Jewels 3
2. Chris Stapleton- Traveller
3. Cherry Glazerr- Apocalipstick
4. All The Little Pieces- Legend Of Lavinia Fisher
5. Johnny Conqueroo- Washed Up
6. Sturgill Simpson- Metamodern Sounds In Country Music
7. Drive-By Truckers- American Band
8. Japandroids- Near To The Wild Heart Of Life
9. Sturgill Simpson- Sailor’s Guide To Earth
10. The XX- I See You

1. Sturgill Simpson- Sailor’s Guide To Earth
2. Run The Jewels- Run The Jewels 3
3. Sturgill Simpson- High Top Mountain
4. Foxygen- Hang
5. Ty Segall- Ty Segall
6. Grateful Dead- Grateful Dead (50th Anniversary reissue)
7. Avalanches- Since I Left You (reissue)
8. La La Land- Original Soundtrack
9. Tame Impala- Currents
10. Chris Stapleton- Traveller

Posted in Best Sellers |

New Releases — January 27, 2017

Bell Biv DeVoe – Three Stripes CD (E1)
New album from the R&B group. Includes the single “One More Try” featuring Boyz II Men.

Chicago – Chicago II: Steven Wilson Remix CD (Rhino)
For the first time, a stereo remix from the 16-track multi-track tapes made it possible for Steven Wilson to bring out elements that were muffled or submerged in the mix. The result is a new stereo version of 1970’s Chicago II that boasts clearness, punch and definition that it didn’t have before.

Guy Clark – Live From Austin TX [Reissue/2007] CD+DVD/2xLP (New West)
Guy Clark’s 1989 performance is a career-spanning retrospective of legendary proportions featuring classics such as, “Desperados Waiting For A Train,” “Texas 1947” and “Homegrown Tomatoes.” Remastered and pressed onto 180gm vinyl, this title is also being made available on a CD+DVD combo in redesigned packaging with 5.1 surround sound.

Cloud Nothings – Life Without Sound CD/LP+MP3 (Carpark)
Dylan Baldi maintains simple, admirable standards in quality. “A thing I like to do with all of my records is drive around with them,” the 25-year-old Cloud Nothings frontman says. “In high school, I would listen to music for hours like that: just driving through the suburbs of Cleveland. And if it sounds good to me in that context and I can think of high school me listening to it and saying, ‘That’s okay,’ I feel good about the record. This is the one that’s felt best.” “This” is Life Without Sound, the radiant, far-far-better-than-okay fourth full-length his rock outfit has recorded since he began writing and releasing songs on his own under the Cloud Nothings alias in 2008. You can hear it in the aerodynamic guitar pop of album tracks “Modern Act,” and feel it in the devastating wisdom of “Internal World,” a lullaby-like howler that dwells on “the fact that being yourself can be uncomfortable and even potentially dangerous at times.” Continue reading

Posted in New Releases |

Top Selling Music, Week of January 16-22, 2017

1. Run The Jewels- Run The Jewels 3
2. Flaming Lips- Oczy Mlody
3. All The Little Pieces- The Legend Of Lavinia Fisher
4. Grateful Dead- Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary
5. Sepultura- Machine Messiah
6. Sturgill Simpson- Sailor’s Guide To Earth
7. Pink Floyd- Dark Side Of The Moon
8. Van Morrison- Essential Van Morrison
9. Rage Against The Machine- Rage Against The Machine
10. Johnny Conqueroo- Washed Up

1. Run The Jewels- Run The Jewels 3
2. Sturgill Simpson- Sailor’s Guide To Earth
3. Killers- Hot Fuss
4. The XX- I See You
5. Angel Olsen- My Woman
6. Beatles- Abbey Road
7. Alice In Chains- Live – Facelift
8. Thee Oh Sees- Odd Entrances
9. Death Grips- Bottomless Pit
10. Replacements- Pleased to Meet Me

Posted in Best Sellers |

All the Little Pieces In-Store on Jan. 21

Fronted by 16-year-old songwriter Rhyan Sinclair, All the Little Pieces (with Billy P. Thomas on bass and Perry Ritter on guitar) recently released their third album “The Legend of Lavinia Fisher,” which takes the listener on a trip through time, starting with a present day traveler, going back to a traveler in the 1800′s who ends up in the Inn run by Lavinia Fisher and her husband. It then shifts to the chilling perspective of Lavinia. This dark, lush album shows a shift in their style from alternative rock to a more alt-country sound they call Southern Grunge. Joined on the album by Fats Kaplin (Jack White’s band), Carl Verheyen (Supertramp) and Warren Hood (The BoDeans), The Legend of Lavinia Fisher is the sound of All the Little Pieces finding their place in music and Rhyan Sinclair finding her niche as a songwriter. All the Little Pieces was named Lexington Music Awards’ (LEXI) Best Rock Band of 2015. This free in-store event will celebrate the release of their new album on vinyl in addition to the CD which is currently available.

Posted in Events |